Book Casing

Great books recommended by great people.

Michael Bloomberg's Bookcase

Michael "Mike" Rubens Bloomberg (born February 14, 1942) is an American business magnate, politician, and philanthropist. With a net worth of US$48.3 billion as of August 2016, Bloomberg is the 6th richest person in the United States and the 8th richest in the world.

Photo by: Rubenstein

Recommends

From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.

Found via: Favobooks

:

A George Smiley Novel

Featuring George Smiley, The Honourable Schoolboy is the second installment in the renowned Karla Trilogy, the follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, which was the inspiration for the Oscar-nominated film starring Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, and Tom Hardy

John le Carré’s memoir, The Pigeon Tunnel: Stories from My Life, will be available from Viking in September 2016

As the fall of Saigon looms, master spy George Smiley must outmaneuver his Soviet counterpart on a battlefield that neither can afford to lose.

The mole has been eliminated, but the damage wrought has brought the British Secret Service to its knees. Given the charge of the gravely compromised Circus, George Smiley embarks on a campaign to uncover what Moscow Centre most wants to hide. When the trail goes cold at a Hong Kong gold seam, Smiley dispatches Gerald Westerby to shake the money tree. A part-time operative with cover as a philandering journalist, Westerby insinuates himself into a war-torn world where allegiances—and lives—are bought and sold.

Brilliantly plotted and morally complex, The Honourable Schoolboy is the second installment of John le Carré's renowned Karla triology and a riveting portrayal of postcolonial espionage.

With an introduction by the author.

John le Carré's Our Kind of Traitor is soon to be a major motion picture starring Ewan McGregor, Naomie Harris, Stellan Skarsgård and Damian Lewis.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Found via: Favobooks

You might also enjoy books from